Daisy

meeting Daisy

The animal sanctuary I work with recently became home to several hens and turkeys who were rescued from the factory farming industry. Nina has been waiting weeks to meet the flock, but they’ve been in quarantine, a necessary precaution as they settle into their new home. Nina understands all of this, but that didn’t stop her from asking me approximately two hundred times a day, “When can I hold Daisy?

This question has recently been replaced by several others, out of concern that Daisy won’t be able to eat. Every single one of these birds has been debeaked, something Nina noticed almost right away from their photographs. There were  questions, and tears, and discussions. Tears turned to outrage, and discussions turned towards solutions. Nina took it upon herself to inform her entire class — in the first week back at school(!) — about debeaking. She hatched a plan to teach Daisy how to use a straw, such was her concern over this tiny bird’s ability to eat and drink.

turkeys

Over the weekend Nina and I went out to the sanctuary to meet everyone, feed them snacks, give them hugs, and set Nina’s mind at ease.  I see this becoming a weekly event, and I’m ever so thankful that this opportunity to educate through animal kindness is just a short drive from our home.

Daisywith Daisy

7 thoughts on “Daisy

      • I feel that having her take an active role is very important, and we’re very lucky that 1) I found this wonderful sanctuary to work with, and 2) it’s just a few minutes down the road. When I think about how things as trivial as pop songs made their imprint on me, I get goosebumps thinking about how Nina’s hands-on experience will play some role in shaping the person she becomes.

        Like

Comments

