Not chicken soup

Nina has mostly bounced back from her back-to-school cold, but I had a wicked 24-hour stomach virus earlier this week.

In lieu of the proverbial (vegan) chicken soup, this is what I feed myself and family when we’re on the mend.

GetHealthyStirfryThe world’s ugliest stir fry (serves two!): 1 small head of cabbage, 8 giant mushrooms, 1/2 block of tempeh, 2 handfuls cherry tomatoes, 1 handful cilantro, 4 cloves garlic, 1/2-inch piece of ginger, 1/2 cup cooked long grain rice, turmeric, tamari, toasted sesame oil, pinch of sugar, and as much chili paste as you can handle.
PickleMadnessAlways with the pickles: lacto-fermented pickles (with ginger+garlic, and straight up garlic+dill), vinegar Szechuan peppercorn pickles, spicy-sweet mustard relish (mashed w. chickpeas), vinegar-pickled sweet peppers and shallots
homemade crispy tacosHa ha! I wish. Crispy skillet tacos, I miss you.
CitrusSmoothie.pre CitrusSmoothei.postgreen citrus smoothies

Spinach citrus smoothie

§ § §

I prefer frozen spinach over fresh for quick, smooth blending. Whether it’s from my co-op’s freezer section or spinach that I chopped and froze myself, I always have a bag at the ready.  I make these almost every morning during the winter for my family to have with breakfast, and whenever one of us is under the weather.

§ § §

1 large orange
1/2 grapefruit
1/2 lemon
1 handful frozen spinach
1 handful crushed ice
1-2 teaspoons agave or maple syrup to sweeten, if needed

Peel, seed and segment your citrus. Blend everything until smooth and frothy. Sweeten to taste. Drink up.

Yield: 2-3 Cups

Prep time: 5 minutes | Blend time: 1 minute

2 thoughts on “Not chicken soup

Comments

